Close Menu
Florida Labor & Employment Attorney
  • Employment
  • Civil Rights
  • Healthcare
Florida 561-653-0008 California 213-377-5200
Helping You Navigate Workplace Issues in Florida and California
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus
  • Youtube
  • Yelp
  • Instagram

Child Labor Laws for Hiring Your Children

As a business owner, hiring your children to work for you can offer some distinct advantages. In addition to helping instill a work ethic and teaching money management, it can also be an excellent strategy to minimize tax liability.

That said, it is important to consider the child labor laws related to the decision to hire your children who are younger than 18.

For the most part, federal child labor laws do not apply if you employ your own child. However, you may be impacted by state child labor laws. When federal and state employment law conflicts, the most restrictive law or the one that offers the most benefit for those it was designed to protect should be followed.

Child Labor Laws in the State of Florida


Children under 14:

While children under the age of 14 are generally not legally employable in the state of Florida, minors who work for their parents (in occupations not declared hazardous) are deemed exemptions to this restriction.

Children 14-15:

  • May not work during school hours

  • When school is in session

    • May work up to 15 hours per week. Not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. and for no more than 3 hours a day on school days, when a school day follows.

    • May work up to 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and on nonschool days, when school days do not follow, until 9 p.m.

  • When school is not in session (summer vacation, spring/winter break)

    • May work up to 8 hours per day and up to 40 hours per week; may not work before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.

Children 16-17

  • May not work during school hours unless they meet certain criteria.

  • When school is in session

    • May work up to 30 hours per week. Not before 6:30 a.m. or later than 11 p.m. and for no more than 8 hours a day when school is scheduled the following day.

    • On days when school does not follow, there are no hour restrictions.

  • When school is not in session

    • No limitations


  • No more than 6 consecutive days in any one week.


  • Minors may work no more than 4 consecutive hours without a 30 minute uninterrupted break.

Employing your son or daughter does not mean you are exempt from child labor laws. Be sure you understand which laws impact your business to avoid any potential legal issues.


  • United States Department of Labor
  • Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation
  • Jupiter Map 250 South Central Boulevard | Suite 104-A
    Jupiter, FL 33458
  • West Palm Beach Map 101 Northpoint Parkway
    West Palm Beach, FL 33407
    (Appointment Only)
  • Beverly Hills Map 9430 West Olympic Boulevard
    Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Florida 561-653-0008 California 213-377-5200
* Cathleen Scott is licensed to practice in Florida only.

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

No content on this site may be reused in any fashion without written permission from

MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2016 - 2017 Scott Wagner & Associates, P.A. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.